Shop

07.01. - 14.01.2023

Belalp Hexe

The Belalp Witches' Run

Every year in January, the Blatten-Belalp region is shaken by piercing screams and horrible cackling. The picturesque vacation region on the Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch UNESCO World Heritage Site is then firmly in the hands of witches. The fastest racers complete the 12-kilometer course from Hohstock at 3118 meters above sea level down to Blatten at 1322 meters in an adventurous 10 minutes. The witch groups take it more leisurely. With green heads, crooked noses and loud shrieks the witches fly on their brooms towards the valley. In between they put their brooms in the powder snow and treat the spectators with food and drink from their backpacks. Quite a few groups do not arrive at the finish line in full numbers, because every now and then witches get lost on the white, snow-covered slopes of Belalp, or else they can't stop marveling at the unique panorama.

The 40th edition of the Belalp Hexe from 8 - 15 January 2022 had to be cancelled due to the Corona pandemic.

Further information on the Belalp Witches' Run

  • In the evening, the approcimately 1500 participants and the numerous spectators and visitors from Switzerland and nearby countries transform the tranquil village of Blatten into a witch's cauldron and celebrate the eerily beautiful Witches Nights until the early hours of the morning.

    For the young witches, the race already starts a week before the actual event. In the Mini-Maxi race, the children and an adult try to complete the shortened race course as quickly as possible. The mini-witches, on the other hand, dress up and the scariest mini-witches are awarded prizes. Until the "big" witch race on Saturday, various preparatory races will take place during the week. In Friday, the funeral pyre is lit in Blatten and the Belalp Witch is officially opened. The old tradition of the witch dance has been reintroduced into the programme and was a highlight of this year's Belalp Hexe. One of the few changes made by the OC around Preesident Sebastian Truffer. The success proves them right. The Belalp Hexe is one of the largest and most popular winter events in the Valais.

  • But how did the event get its name? It goes back to an old legend, which is told this way:

    It is said that a witch, married to a good man, once lived in Hegdorn on the Natischerberg. At one time, the witch also lived in "Aletsch". She had a more intimate relationship with a lover who lived in "Birgisch". When these lovers wanted to visit each other, they took the form of black crows and flew together. These crows were often seen flying up and down, just like today, ecept that in those days the crows were witches and lovers, whereas today they are just ordinary birds. In these circumstances, our witch hated her pious husband very mutch, but she could never harm him. It happened that in Aletsch, the witch wanted to make soup. She put a pot and butter on the fire and remembere that she didn't have any garlic on hand yet. She hurried down to Naters and fetched the necessary herb from a garden. On her way back to Blatten, she saw her hated husband picking cherries from a tree. In the form of a raven, she flew to the top of the cherry tree and dropped excrement into the eyes of her husband, who had forgotten to say the noon prayer, so that he fell from the tree, blind, and dies. the witch returned to Aletsch and continued to cook her soup. Then the wise authorities began to lose patience. The witch was arrested and accused of stealing often in the form of a crow and of having killed her husband in Blatten while she was making soup in Aletsch. She probably confessed to all these crimes under torture, because the judge sentenced her to be burned at the stake, according to the criminal law of the time. The culprit was burned in Hegdorn, where the place of execution is still called "Hagsch-Schädji".

  • Centuries later, the Belalp Ski Club created this witches' race in honor of this man. According to the sources, the man died on the cherry tree at the current finish area in Blatten.

  • The event is not only fun as a participant. As a spectator, the "Belalp Hexe" is also very interesting and exciting. On the one hand, because the witch groups are usually very generous with all kinds of drinks and, on the other hand, because Belalp is one of the most beautiful and attracctive ski areas in the Valais. The new Blatten cable car can be reached from Brig in 15 minutes. Gone are the days when you had to wait in line for a long time at the valley station. The view of the Aletschbord form the Hotel Belalp is a highlight. In addition to the breathtaking panorama with viewes of the giants of the Valais Alps, including the Matterhorn, there is a clear view of the great Altesch glacier and part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch.

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

Réserver

07.01. - 14.01.2023

Belalp Hexe

La descente de la sorcière ("Hexenabfahrt") de Belalp

Chaque année en janvier, la région de Blatten-Belalp est secouée par des cris perçants et des ricanements horribles. La pittoresque région de vacances située au cœur du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO Alpes suisses Jungfrau-Aletsch est alors aux mains des sorcières. Les compétiteurs les plus rapides parcourent les 12 kilomètres qui séparent le Hohstock, à 3118 mètres d'altitude, de Blatten, à 1322 mètres, en 10 minutes. Les groupes de sorcières sont plus tranquilles. Avec leurs têtes vertes, leurs nez crochus et leurs cris, les sorcières volent sur leurs balais en direction de la vallée. De temps en temps, elles posent leurs balais dans la poudreuse et gâtent les spectateurs avec de la nourriture et des boissons tirées de leurs sacs à dos. Il n'est pas rare que des groupes n'arrivent pas au complet à l'arrivée, parce que de temps en temps des sorcières s'évaporent sur les pistes blanches et enneigées de Belalp ou parce qu'elles ne peuvent plus s'empêcher de s'émerveiller devant le panorama unique.

La 40e édition de la Belalp Hexe, qui aura lieu du 8 au 15 janvier 2022, a dû être annulée en raison de la pandémie de Corona.

Plus d'informations sur la Belalp Hexenabfahrt

  • Le soir, les quelque 1500 participants ainsi que les nombreux spectateurs et visiteurs venus de Suisse et des pays voisins transforment le paisible village de Blatten en un chaudron de sorcières et célèbrent jusqu'au petit matin les Witches Nights, un événement d'une beauté effrayante.

    Pour les jeunes sorcières, la course commence déjà une semaine avant le véritable événement. Lors de la course Mini-Maxi, les enfants accompagnés d'un adulte essaient de parcourir le plus rapidement possible le circuit en version réduite. Les mini-sorcières, quant à elles, se déguisent et les mini-sorcières les plus effrayantes sont élues. Jusqu'à la "grande" descente des sorcières le samedi, différentes courses de préparation ont lieu pendant la semaine. Le vendredi, le bûcher est allumé à Blatten et la "Belalp Hexe" est officiellement lancée. L'ancienne tradition de la danse des sorcières a été réintroduite dans le programme et a été l'un des points forts de la Belalp Hexe de cette année. C'est l'une des rares modifications apportées par le comité d'organisation autour du président Sebastian Truffer. Le succès leur donne raison. La Belalp Hexe est l'un des événements hivernaux les plus importants et les plus appréciés du Valais.

  • Mais comment l'événement a-t-il pris son nom ? Il remonte à une vieille légende que l'on raconte comme suit :
    On raconte qu'une sorcière, mariée à un brave homme, vivait autrefois à Hegdorn, au Natischerberg. A une époque, la sorcière habitait aussi à "Aletsch". Elle entretenait des relations plus intimes avec un amant qui habitait à "Birgisch". Lorsque ces amoureux voulaient se rendre visite, ils prenaient la forme de corbeaux noirs et volaient ensemble. On voyait donc souvent ces corbeaux voler de haut en bas, comme de nos jours, à la seule différence qu'à l'époque, ces corbeaux étaient des sorcières et des amants, alors qu'aujourd'hui, ils ne sont plus que des oiseaux ordinaires. Dans ces circonstances, notre sorcière haïssait beaucoup son pieux mari, mais elle ne pouvait jamais lui faire de mal. Il arriva qu'à Aletsch, la sorcière voulut faire de la soupe. Elle mit une casserole et du beurre sur le feu et se souvint qu'elle n'avait pas encore d'ail sous la main. Elle se dépêcha de descendre à Naters et d'aller chercher l'herbe nécessaire dans un jardin. En rentrant à Blatten, elle vit son mari détesté en train de cueillir des cerises dans un arbre. Sous la forme d'un corbeau, elle s'envola aussitôt au sommet du cerisier et fit descendre des excréments dans les yeux de son mari qui, par malheur, avait omis de réciter la prière du midi, si bien qu'il tomba de l'arbre, aveugle, et mourut. La sorcière, elle, retourna à Aletsch et continua tranquillement à faire cuire sa soupe. C'est alors que les sages autorités commencèrent à perdre patience. La sorcière fut arrêtée et accusée de voler souvent sous forme de corbeau et d'avoir tué son mari à Blatten pendant qu'elle faisait la soupe à Aletsch. Elle a probablement avoué tous ces crimes sous la torture, car le juge l'a condamnée à être brûlée au bûcher, conformément au droit pénal de l'époque. La coupable fut brûlée à Hegdorn, où l'on appelle encore le lieu d'exécution "Hagsch-Schädji".

  • Des siècles plus tard, le ski-club Belalp a créé cette descente des sorcières en l'honneur de cet homme. Selon les sources transmises, l'homme est mort sur le cerisier de l'actuelle aire d'arrivée à Blatten.

  • La manifestation n'est pas seulement amusante en tant que participant. En tant que spectateur, la "Belalp Hexe" est également très intéressante et passionnante. D'une part, parce que les groupes de sorcières se montrent généralement très généreux avec toutes sortes de breuvages et, d'autre part, parce que Belalp compte parmi les domaines skiables les plus beaux et les plus attrayants du Valais. Depuis Brigue, on atteint la nouvelle télécabine de Blatten en 15 minutes. Fini le temps où il fallait faire la queue pendant longtemps à la station aval. La vue à l'hôtel Belalp sur le Aletschbord est un point fort. En plus du panorama à couper le souffle avec vue sur les géants des Alpes valaisannes, y compris le Cervin, on a ici une vue dégagée sur le grand glacier d'Aletsch et une partie du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO Alpes suisses Jungfrau-Aletsch.

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.